Academy Council


The PAAO has a seat on the American Academy of Ophthalmology Council. Below is a list of the Pan-American’s representatives on the Council. For more information go to the Academy Council page on

Current Council Member M. Soledad Cortina, MD (2021-2023)

M. Soledad Cortina, MD
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
University of Illinois Eye & Ear Infirmary
Cornea and External Eye Disease

Dr. Cortina is Associate Professor of Ophthalmology and attending physician in the Cornea Service at the Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences.  She serves as Director of the Keratoprosthesis Artificial Cornea Program, and Director of the Infirmary’s Comprehensive Ophthalmology Faculty Practice and General Eye Clinic.

Dr. Cortina joined the Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary as a board-certified cornea specialist in 2010.  She received her medical degree from the University of Buenos Aires School of Medicine, Argentina.  She completed her residency at Louisiana State University (LSU) School of Medicine; a research fellowship at Louisiana State University Neuroscience Center; and a clinical fellowship in cornea at UIC’s Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary.

Dr. Cortina specializes in all forms of corneal transplantation and external eye diseases with a special interest in keratoprosthesis. Dr. Cortina’s research focuses on mechanisms of intraocular fibrosis and retroprosthestic membranes.

Previous Council Members
Begin Date End Date
M. Soledad Cortina MD 1/1/2021 12/31/2023
Zelia M Correa MD 1/1/2015 12/31/2020
Stephanie Jones Marioneaux MD 1/1/2009 12/31/2014
William F Mieler, MD 1/1/2006 12/31/2008
Michael W Brennan MD 1/1/2005 12/31/2005
Alice R McPherson MD 1/1/1999 12/31/2004
John Alexander Irvine MD 1/1/1993 12/31/1997
Stephen J. Ryan MD 1/1/1987 12/31/1992