Tribute to Paulo Dantas

“We created a pterygium study group headed by our mentor Paulo Dantas, and we would like to honor him.

We wanted to honor him first as an individual because his character, goodwill, patience, and education serve as an example to us all and for being a friend for all hours.

Furthermore, we would like to honor him as an ophthalmologist for his dedication to patients and vast knowledge, which served as an example.

Finally, we would mainly like to honor the teacher and mentor. Always present in our education, discussing cases, and teaching surgical techniques in detail, without haste, aiming to improve all his students , continuously raising the level of ophthalmology and contributing immensely. To complete our tribute, we must praise his mentor side, encouraging his colleagues altruistically. He was the founder of the pterygium group PAC, always present in creating our courses, studies, and others, without aiming for promotion.

We would especially like to thank you for always opening doors and showing new paths to be followed. 

Teachers are like lighthouses for ships. They are there to smooth navigation, bringing safety and lightning along the way.

For many years, Professor Paulo Elias Correa Dantas has been the beacon for residents and fellows of the courses that form ophthalmologists and specialists in Cornea and External Diseases.

His teachings transcend medical teaching:  respect, honesty, patience, integrity make him an extraordinary mentor. He inspires us with his didactics,  his perseverance and his irreverence.

He is a tireless motivator. Always with a new idea and a new proposal.

And as time goes on, former students become friends with him. We thank the Professor for all his teachings.

May he always continue with his light, strength and brightness, illuminating the path of his disciples.”


Pterygium Alliance Consortium

March 2022

Top row left to right :

– Diego Ricardo Hoshino Ruiz

– Victor Bergamasco

– Arthur Rubens Cunha Schaefer

2nd row

– Catarina Ventura Gonçalves de Lima

– Débora Marcolini Schneider Felberg

– Fernando Heitor de Paula

3rd Row

– Francisco Bandeira e Silva

– Fernando Eiji Sakassegawa Naves

– Sergio Felberg

Last Row

-Bernardo Kaplan Moscovici



  1. Rewarding to see such a group of young and dedicated ophthalmologists gaining terrain in the field of our specialty and doing amazing things. Lectures, webinars, wetlabs, hands-on activities, instructive courses, you named! They are all over! And this is just great! Thank you, Sergio, Bernardo, Fernando Eiji, Francisco, Fernando Heitor, Debora, Catarina, Arthur, Victor and Diego. PAC rules!!!!!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Contact the PAOF

Teresa Bradshaw

PAOF Executive Director

[email protected]
2504 W Park Row Drive, Suite B-5, #129
Pantego, TX 76013


2 + 5 =