Recipient of the 2021 Richard & Chita Abbott Young Leader Award Announced

Richard & Chita Abbott Young Leader Award is given to the best project in each future PAAO Leadership Development Program (LDP) class. This award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated support of their national ophthalmology society and the PAAO and has participated in leadership activities at the national, subspecialty, or supranational society level.

Yazmin Mercedes Báez Peralta (Dominican Republic), representing the Dominican Society of Ophthalmology, is the recipient of the 2021 Richard and Chita Abbott Young Leader Award for her project “Incorporate the use of NEO2 Blend in the NICU to reduce de risk of ROP”.

The purpose of the project was to reduce the percentage of premature infants with advance stages of ROP in the Dominican Republic by introducing oxygen mixers with compressed air at the NICU.

Read the project abstract here.

The award will be presented virtually.

Click here to find previous recipients.