Message from the PAOF Chair

Apr 25, 2023

J. Fernando Arevalo MD PhD
PAOF Chair, 2021-2024

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

The Pan-American recently hosted the successful 20th Pan-American Research Day in collaboration with ARVO and Allergan Latin America. This FREE event took place on April 22, 2023, at the LSU Medical Education Building, LSU Health, New Orleans, and showcased over 60 fascinating 5-minute presentations.

With over 100 registrants attending, the event featured the latest ophthalmology research and two incredible keynote speakers: Dr. Nicolas Bazan and Dr. Haydee Bazan from LSU Health. We also enjoyed three Chancellor Award Lectures by renowned ophthalmologists Paulo Dantas, Rubens Belfort Jr., and J. Fernando Arevalo.


Congratulations to the winners of the 2023 Pyott/PARD Travel Awards and Arno Habicht Award for Research Sciences! We’re also proud to recognize the recipients of the 2023 Special Recognition Award for the 20th Anniversary of PARD.

2023 Pyott/PARD Travel Awards (sponsored by the David and Molly Pyott Foundation)

  • Isabela Martins Melo (Canada)
  • Yosra Er-reguyeg (Canada)
  • Virginia Mares (Brazil)
2023 Arno Habicht Award for Research Sciences

  • Melina del Papa (Argentina)
  • Daniela Fabregas-Sanchez-Woodworth (Mexico)
  • Rosa Alvarado-Villacorta (Spain)
2023 Special Recognition Award for the 20th Anniversary of PARD

  • Maria Victoria Vaglienti (Argentina)
  • Alexia Vereertbrugghen (Argentina)
  • Juan Salvador Calanni (Argentina)

The PAOF is committed to supporting junior members through grants, awards, and scholarships. Please consider donating to the Foundation to help us provide more opportunities for our community (

Mark your calendars for the XXVII Pan-American Regional Course of Ophthalmology in San Juan, Puerto Rico (March 14-18, 2024) and the XXXVI Pan-American Congress of Ophthalmology in Bogota, Colombia (May 30-June 2, 2025). Let’s continue to grow and thrive as a Pan-American community!


Dr. Fernando Arévalo
PAOF President