Message from the PAOF Chair

Nov 29, 2022From the PAOF Chair

J. Fernando Arevalo MD PhD
PAOF Chair, 2021-2024

Dear Friends,

We have continued with the tradition started in Cancun 2019 to have an open call to our PAAO Board of Directors for our PAAO Awards at our Pan-American Congress in Buenos Aires, Argentina next year. Our board members represent our 26 national affiliated societies and 21 affiliated subspecialty societies around the world.

A. Edward Maumenee Medal for Distinguished Services. Established in 1983, the Pan-American Medal for Distinguished Services is presented at Pan-American congresses to individuals who have provided exemplary service to the Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology for continuing education for ophthalmologists, the prevention of blindness and the promotion of scientific and cultural exchange among ophthalmologists in the Western Hemisphere. The name change took place in 1999 to honor A. Edward Maumenee, MD, for his extensive contribution to the Pan-American cause, making the award to be the A. Edward Maumenee Medal for Distinguished Services. Click here for the list of past recipients.

Benjamin F. Boyd Humanitarian Award for Services to the Americas. Established in 1987, the Benjamin F. Boyd Humanitarian Award was created to acknowledge individuals who have extended singular and significant service to the people of the Americas through ophthalmological service and blindness prevention activities, public services related to the advancement of ophthalmology or blindness prevention, or such other service activities.  This medal carries an award stipend of USD $500. Click here for the list of past recipients.

Gradle Medal for Good Teaching. The Gradle Medal for Good Teaching was established in 1960 by Mrs. Audry Hayden Gradle in memory of Harry S. Gradle, MD, co-founder of the PAAO. The Gradle Medal for Teaching acknowledges excellence in teaching and education in the field of ophthalmology. This award recognizes a professor ophthalmologist who has demonstrated leadership in developing, implementing, or maintaining an outstanding training program and/or continuing education in the field of Ophthalmology. The awardee exemplifies excellence and promotes best practice in education. The awardee promotes positive relationships between the training program and the community and has been an advocate and leader in the field of Ophthalmology. Click here for the list of past recipients.

The J. Fernando Arévalo Young Ophthalmologist Award will recognize a Young Ophthalmologist (YO) PAAO member who has demonstrated promise in academics and has published and presented relatively extensively for his/her age and has participated in leadership activities at national and subspecialty societies or supranational societies. The award also desires to serve to motivate other young ophthalmologists to serve in similar programs, organizations, and to follow a career in academics. Click here for the list of past recipients.

The Dr. Bronwyn Bateman PAAO Award for Women’s Leadership in Ophthalmology and Vision Research will be awarded for the first time in 2023 to recognize female ophthalmologists for their local and international leadership and academic successes, as well as to elevate and support the nominee’s career goals.

Please see the PAAO website for the complete list of prizes and awards that are presented at PAAO Congresses. The PAOF continues to work tirelessly and supports the PAAO membership, particularly our junior/early-career members via various grants/awards, and opportunities through our Travel Awards, and scholarships. We are in the process of creating more opportunities for you as we speak. We hope that PAAO members will generously support the Foundation ( throughout the year. No gift is small, donate what you can. The more gifts donated, the more support the Foundation can provide to PAAO programs.

Please remember, the goal is to meet again at our XXXV Pan-American Congress of Ophthalmology, March 17-20, 2023 in Buenos Aires Argentina! It’s at these superb meeting where ophthalmology from all the Americas come together to meet and you cannot miss that!


Fernando Arevalo MD PhD

PAOF Chair