Troutman-Véronneau Prize

The Power of the Pan-American Network
The Troutman Véronneau Prize was established in 1993 to recognize the best work submitted by an ophthalmologist under the age of 45, alternating between cornea and strabismus. The winner receives a $10,000 prize and presents the winning paper at the PAAO congresses. The Troutman-Véronneau Prize has been established by Richard C. Troutman, MD, and Suzanne Véronneau, MD, of New York City.

Guidelines and Application form

2023 Application Deadline: November 8, 2022

Online Application form

List of Historical Recipients

2023 Buenos Aires, Argentina
Recipient: Marcela Huertas Bello MD (Colombia)
Title: The therapeutic potential of Genipin corneal crosslinking in a Fusarium Solani species keratitis Ex vivo Model
2019 Cancun, Mexico
Recipient: Cristian M. Salgado Alarcon MD (Chile)
Title: Histological changes in inferior oblique muscle in humans with fourth cranial nerve palsy and secondary inferior oblique overaction: A stereological study
2017 Lima, Peru
Recipient: Juan Carlos Serna Ojeda MD MSc (Mexico)
Title: Análisis de los resultados a corto plazo del trasplante alogénico de células troncales expandidas in vitro con fenotipo ABCB5+/p63+ en pacientes con deficiencia bilateral de células de limbo
2015 Bogotá, Colombia
Recipient: María Carolina Ortube MD (Argentina)
Title: Fusion after Treatment of Patients with Acquired Strabismus due to Brain Lesions
2013 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Recipient: Balamurali Krishna Ambati MD PhD MBA (USA)
Title: Raver2 Preserves Corneal Avascularity by Inhibiting Splicing of the VEGF Decoy Receptor sFlt1
2011 Buenos Aires, Argentina
Recipient: Bruna Lana Ducca MD (Brazil)
Title: Measurement of the Ocular Torsion Variation After Superior Oblique Tenectomy
2009 San Francisco, California (none)
2007 Cancún, Mexico
Recipient: Vanesa Macedo Batista Fiorelli MD (Brazil)
Title: Intermittent Exotropia: Comparative Surgical Results of Lateral Recti-Recession and Monocular Recess-Resect
2005 Santiago, Chile
Recipient: Rocío Carolina Gutiérrez C. MD (Venezuela)
Title: Cultivo de células epiteliales limbales en membrana amniótica humana en el tratamiento de las quemaduras corneales por alcali
2003 San Juan, Puerto Rico
Recipient: Maria Estela Arroyo Llanes, MD (Mexico)
Title: Tratamiento de la Desviación Vertical Disociada (DVD) espontánea con la penalización farmacológica del ojo fijador
2001 Buenos Aires, Argentina
Recipient: José A. Gomes, MD (Brazil)
Title: Efeito do hialuronato de sódio (HS) na migração e proliferação das células do épitelio de córnea humana
1999 Orlando, Florida
Recipient: Jonathan C. Horton, MD (USA)
Title: Metabolic Mapping Suppression Scotomas in Striate Cortex of Macaques with Experimental Strabismus
1997 Cancún, México
Recipient: Peter McDonnell, MD (USA)
Title: Effects of Gene Transfer into Keratocytes on Corneal Wound Healing after Excimer Laser Keratectomy
1995 Quito, Ecuador
Recipient: William Lavin, MD (USA)
Title: Evaluation of the Microsurgical Technique of Anterior Ciliary Artery Preservation during Strabismus Surgery
1993 Caracas, Venezuela
Recipient: John D. Gottsch, MD (Baltimore, MD, USA)
Title: Mooren’s Ulcer After Penetrating Keratoplasty: Evidence of a New Graft Rejection Process” — FIRST PRIZE AWARDED