Lions/PAAO Award in Blindness Prevention

The Power of the Pan-American Network

Established in 2011, the Lions/PAAO Award in Blindness Prevention recognizes an individual ophthalmologist with a record of excellence, innovation, and dedication in the field of blindness prevention. The Lions/PAAO Award in Blindness Prevention is granted once a year to a nominee that is a citizen and practicing ophthalmologist in the host country of the Pan-American Regional Course or Congress.

List of Historical Recipients

2017 XXXIII Pan-American Congress
Lima, Peru
Recipient: Mercedes Zambrano Paco MD (Peru)
2016 XXIV Pan-American Regional Course
Asunción, Paraguay
Recipient: Sara M. Pozzi MD (Paraguay)
2015 31st Pan-American Congress of Ophthalmology
Bogotá, Colombia
Recipient: Virgilio Galvis MD (Colombia)
2014 no recipient
2013 30th Pan-American Congress of Ophthalmology
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Recipient: Andrea Zin MD (Brazil)
2012 19th Pan-American Regional Course
Cartagena, Colombia
Recipient: Claudia Zuluaga Botero MD (Colombia)