Research Day

This year PARD will be in person and after ARVO on Saturday, 22 April 2023. Everyone presenting at ARVO is invited to share their research in a quick 5-minute format. This popular event will bring you up to speed on all the latest research in one day.

  • It is FREE
  • Saturday, 22 April 2023
  • Anterior Segment Session: TBA
  • Posterior Segment Session: TBA
  • In person at the Neuroscience Center for Excellence, LSU Health, New Orleans
  • Speaker application deadline is 15 March

To stimulate research at the Pan-American level and recognize the efforts of our young investigators, the Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology (PAAO) has been organizing the Pan-American Research Day, in conjunction with the important partnerships with the Association of Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) and with Allergan Latin America, for the past several years and it has become an exciting tradition.


The best three works by researchers under 40 in each group will receive a prize.

  • Six $500 dollar prizes

The prizes are sponsored by the Arno Habicht Award for Research Sciences and the David & Molly Pyott Foundation. To be considered for a prize, you must be 40 years old or less and from the Americas, Spain, or Portugal. Remember, one award per person. If you have already received an award from ARVO, you do not qualify for a PAAO prize. If you have already received a scholarship previously from the PAAO, you do not qualify. You must present your paper to win. No speaker substitutions will be allowed.

Co-Chairs, Organizing Committee
Lihteh Wu (Costa Rica)
Arturo Ramirez Miranda (Mexico)

Presentations at PARD

If you had a presentation accepted by ARVO, we hope you took advantage of the possibility to present your work at our PARD meeting. Due to the popularity of this event, we always receive more requests to present than there are time slots available, so there is a review and competitive selection process. The language for presentation is English.

Sponsored by

Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology


Co-Sponsored by

ARVO and Allergan

Our sponsors ARVO & Allergan

Check out the 2022 program

Mark your calendar to attend/participate!

This is a free event!

We hope that you will  join us and share your work and experience.



Nicolas Bazan MD PhD

  • Boyd Professor
    Ernest C. and Yvette C. Villere Chair for the Study of Retinal Degeneration
  • Professor of Ophthalmology, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and Neurology
  • Director, Neuroscience Center of Excellence
  • School of Medicina, LSU Health, New Orleans, Louisiana USA



Rubens Belfort Jr. MD PhD
  • Clinica Belfort, Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • Professor, Department of Ophthalmology, Federal University of Sao Paulo (1991-present)
  • Membro da Academia Ophthalmologica Universalis; Membro Academia Nacional de Medicina; Membro Academia Brasileira de Ciências; Membro Academia Brasileira de Farmácia

Chancellor Award Lectures

Paulo E.C. Dantas, MD
  • President of the PAAO
  • Editor-in-Chief of the Pan-American Journal of Ophthalmology
  • Professor of Ophthalmology, Corneal and External Disease Service,
    Department of Ophthalmology,
    Hospital Oftalmológico de Sorocaba, São Paulo
J. Fernando Arevalo, MD, PhD, FACS, FASRSMD
  • Edmund F. and Virginia B. Ball Professor of Ophthalmology
  • Wilmer Eye Institute & Chairman at Bayview Medical Center
    The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
    Baltimore, MD, USA

Thank you to our Moderators

Moderators, Anterior Segment Session:

Erick Hernandez Bogantes (Costa Rica), Julio Hernandez Camarena (Mexico), Sandra Belalcazar (Colombia)

Moderators, Posterior Segment Session:

Francisco J. Rodriguez (Colombia), Ximena Mira (Mexico), Gabriela Lopezcarasa (Mexico), Marcelo Zas (Argentina)

Technical Coordinator:

Eduardo Viteri (Ecuador)