FREE EVENT*

20 November 2021,
8 AM – 12 PM EST

on zoom

Register Now

Click for Local Times

7 AM Mexico
8 AM Colombia, Peru
9 AM Venezuela, Bolivia
10 AM Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay
1 PM Portugal
2 PM Spain

(click here for your local time)

 

*$10 USD for a certificate.

Lo Mejor de la Academia en Español (The Best of the Academy in Spanish) is a constructive and critical review of what was presented during the Academy Annual Meeting.

There will be round tables and panels made up of Spanish-speaking ophthalmologists so that colleagues receive the widest possible knowledge of what was seen and heard during the Academy.

The panels are made up of invited ophthalmologists but we consider every participant a panelist and hope that everyone who attends will have an active participation in discussions and round tables, for the benefit of all participants.

Director

J. Fernando Arévalo MD PhD (Venezuela/USA)

Co-Directors

Roberto Gallego Pinazo MD (Spain)
Enrique Graue Hernández MD (Mexico)
Arturo Ramírez Miranda MD (Mexico)
Alejandro J. Lavaque (Argentina)

Technical Coordinator

Eduardo Viteri MD (Ecuador)

Preliminary Program 

updated 9 July 2021

Please note, the topics, times and speakers are subject to change.

8:00AM – 8:05 AM ET – Bienvenida (Welcome)
J. Fernando Arévalo MD PhD (USA)[25]; Miguel N. Burnier Jr. MD PhD (Canada)[2]

8:05 AM – 8:15 AM ET – Oftalmología Pediátrica (Pediatric Ophthalmology)
Hilda Capó MD (USA)[9]

8:20 AM – 8:40 AM ET – Tumores y Patología Ocular (Ocular Pathology and Tumors)
Zelia M. Correa MD PhD (USA)[13]; Abelardo Rodríguez MD (Mexico)[16]

8:45 AM – 9:10 AM ET – Catarata (Cataract)
Moderador: Ashley Behrens MD (USA)[18]
Panelistas: Jesús Arrieta Camacho MD (Mexico)[5]; José Antonio Claros MD (Mexico)[23]; Luis Izquierdo Jr. MD (Peru)[19]; Daniel Scorsetti MD (Argentina)[24]

9:15 AM – 9:35 AM ET – Córnea, Dacriología y Superficie Ocular (Cornea, Dacriology and Ocular Surface)
Moderador: Enrique Graue-Hernández MD (Mexico)[13]
Panelistas: Paulo E.C. Dantas MD (Brazil)[7]; Everardo Hernández Quintela MD (Mexico)[2]; Alfonso L. Sabater MD PhD (USA)[1]

9:40 AM – 9:45 AM ET – Exhibición Comercial (Exhibits)
Arturo Ramírez Miranda MD (Mexico)[10]

9:50 AM – 10:10 AM ET – Retina Médica y Imágenes (Medical Retina & Imaging)
Moderador: Roberto Gallego-Pinazo MD PhD (Spain)[5]
Panelistas: Rosa Dolz-Marco MD (Spain)[4]; Alejandro Lavaque MD (Argentina)[9]; Andrés Bastién MD (Argentina)[1]

10:15 AM – 10:35 AM ET – Retina Quirúrgica (Surgical Retina)
Moderador: José A. Roca MD (Peru)[21]
Panelistas: Valentina Franco Cárdenas MD (Mexico)[9]; Matko Vidosevich MD (Argentina)[4]; Jorge Fortún MD (USA)[1]

10:40 AM – 10:50 AM ET – Uveítis (Uveitis)
Andrés F. Lasave MD (Argentina)[2]

10:55 AM – 11:05 AM ET – Neuroftalmología (Neurophthalmology)
Emely Karam MD (Venezuela)[4]

11:10 AM – 11:30 AM ET – Glaucoma (Glaucoma)
Monica Mayorga MD (Costa Rica)[6]; Luis Silva MD (Venezuela/USA)[4]

11:35 AM – 11:55 AM ET – Cirugía Refractiva (Refractive Surgery)
Moderador: Alejandro Navas MD (Mexico)[5]
Panelistas: Enrique Graue-Hernández MD (Mexico)[13]; Arturo Ramírez-Miranda MD (Mexico)[10]; José Alejandro Claros MD (Mexico)[9]

12:00 PM – 12:20 PM ET – Cirugía Oculoplástica (Oculoplastic Surgery)
Ximena Arze MD (Bolivia)[6]; Roxana Y. Rivera MD (USA)[2]

12:00 PM ET – Cierre de la reunión (End of Session)
J. Fernando Arévalo MD PhD (USA)[25]; Roberto Gallego Pinazo MD PhD (Spain)[5]

[#] Indicates number of years as a speaker at Lo Mejor.