8 am – 12 pm EST

5 Dec 2020

8 am – 12 pm EST

Saturday

5 December 2020

via zoom

Lo Mejor de la Academia en Español (The Best of the Academy in Spanish) is a constructive and critical review of what was presented during the Academy Annual Meeting.

Due to the global pandemic, Lo Mejor 2020 will take place Saturday, 5 December, in a virtual/zoom format.

There will be round tables and panels made up of Spanish-speaking ophthalmologists so that colleagues receive the widest possible knowledge of what was seen and heard during the Academy.

The panels are made up of invited ophthalmologists but we consider every participant a panelist and hope that everyone who attends will have an active participation in discussions and round tables, for the benefit of all participants.

Director

J. Fernando Arévalo MD PhD (Venezuela/USA)

Co-Directors

Roberto Gallego Pinazo MD (Spain)
Enrique Graue Hernández MD (Mexico)
Arturo Ramírez Miranda MD (Mexico)
Alejandro J. Lavaque (Argentina)

LOCATION

VIRTUAL for 2020

Free Online Registration

 Virtual Meeting

NEW DATE & TIME:
5 December 2020,
8 AM – 12:30 PM EST

7 AM Mexico
8 AM Colombia, Peru
9 AM Venezuela, Bolivia
10 AM Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay
1 PM Portugal
2 PM Spain

(click here for your local time)

 

Preliminary Program 

Please note, the topics, times and speakers are subject to change.


8:00 AM – 8:05 AM ET – Bienvenida (Welcome) 
  J. Fernando Arévalo MD PhD (USA); Miguel Burnier MD PhD (Canada)

8:10 AM – 8:20 AM ET – Oftalmología Pediátrica (Pediatric Ophthalmology)
  Hilda Capó MD (USA)

8:25 AM – 8:45 AM ET – Tumores y Patología Ocular (Ocular Pathology and Tumors)
  Miguel Burnier MD PhD (Canada); Zelia M. Correa MD PhD (USA)

8:50 AM – 9:10 AM ET – Catarata (Cataract)
  Moderador: Ashley Behrens MD (USA)
  Panelistas: Jesús Arrieta Camacho MD (Mexico); Arturo Ramírez Miranda MD (Mexico)

9:15 AM – 9:40 AM ET – Córnea, Dacriología y Superficie Ocular (Cornea, Dacriology and Ocular Surface)
  Moderador: Enrique Graue-Hernández MD (Mexico)
  Panelistas: José Alejandro Claros MD (Mexico); Everardo Hernández Quintela MD (Mexico); Luis Izquierdo Jr. MD (Peru)

9:45 AM – 10:25 AM ET – Retina (Retina)
  Moderador: Roberto Gallego-Pinazo MD PhD (Spain)
  Panelistas: Rosa Dolz-Marco MD (Spain); Valentina Franco Cárdenas MD (Mexico); Alejandro Lavaque MD (Argentina); José A. Roca MD (Peru); Matko Vidosevich MD (Argentina)

10:30 AM – 10:40 AM ET – Uveítis (Uveitis)
  Andrés F. Lasave MD (Argentina)

10:45 AM – 10:55 AM ET – Neuroftalmología (Neurophthalmology)
  Emely Karam MD (Venezuela)

11:00 AM – 11:20 AM ET – Glaucoma (Glaucoma)
  Monica Mayorga MD (Costa Rica); Luis Silva MD (Venezuela/USA)

11:25 AM – 11:45 AM ET – Cirugía Refractiva (Refractive Surgery)
  Moderador: Alejandro Navas MD (Mexico)
  Panelistas: Arturo Ramírez-Miranda MD (Mexico); Enrique Graue-Hernández MD (Mexico)

11:55 AM – 12:00 PM ET – Cirugía Oculoplástica (Oculoplastic Surgery)
  Roxana Y. Rivera MD (USA)

12:00 PM ET – Cierre de la reunión (End of Session) 
  J. Fernando Arévalo MD PhD (USA); Roberto Gallego Pinazo MD PhD (Spain)

A PDF certificate of attendance will be emailed within 15 days after the close of the zoom meeting.
Certificates will be available ONLY to attendees of the live zoom meeting.