Lo Mejor de la Academia en Español (The Best of the Academy in Spanish) is a constructive and critical review of what was presented during the Academy Annual Meeting.

There will be round tables and panels made up of Spanish-speaking ophthalmologists so that colleagues who attend return to their countries carrying the widest possible knowledge of what was seen and heard during the Academy.

We know it is difficult to absorb in four days the different scientific and technical aspects that are presented, sometimes simultaneously, so this summary of the Academy is held immediately afterward so colleagues from Latin American and Spain can get the most out of their travel time and budget.

The panels are made up of invited ophthalmologists but we consider every participant a panelist and hope that everyone who attends will have an active participation in discussions and round tables, for the benefit of all participants.


J. Fernando Arévalo MD PhD (Venezuela/USA)


Roberto Gallego Pinazo MD (Spain)
Enrique Graue Hernández MD (Mexico)
Arturo Ramírez Miranda MD (Mexico)

Check out the 2019 program


Moscone Convention Center, South 151
(upper mezzanine level)
San Francisco, CA


Online Registration

PAAO/AAO Active Member: $50.00
Non-Member: $80.00
Resident/Fellow: $30.00


Please note, the topics, times and speakers are subject to change.

12:00 PM – Inscripción (Registration)

1:00 PM – Bienvenida (Welcome) 
  J. Fernando Arévalo MD PhD (Venezuela/USA)

1:05 PM – Oftalmología Pediátrica (Pediatric Ophthalmology)
  Hilda Capó MD (USA)

1:20 PM – Tumores y Patologías Oculares (Ocular Pathology and Tumors)
  Zelia M. Correa MD PhD (USA); Miguel Materin MD (USA); Abelardo Rodríguez MD (Mexico)

1:40 PM – Catarata (Cataract)
  Moderador: Daniel Scorsetti MD (Argentina)
Panelistas: Jesús Arrieta Camacho MD (Mexico); Ashley Behrens MD (USA); José Antonio Claros MD (Mexico)

2:10 PM – Córnea, Dacriología y Superficie Ocular (Cornea, Dacriology and Ocular Surface)
  Moderador: Enrique Graue-Hernández MD (Mexico)
Panelistas: José Alejandro Claros MD (Mexico); Paulo E.C. Dantas MD (Brazil); Luis Izquierdo Jr. MD (Peru)

2:35 PM – Exhibición Comercial (Exhibits)
  Arturo Ramírez-Miranda MD (Mexico)

2:45 PM – Retina (Retina)
  Moderador: Alejandro Lavaque MD (Argentina)
Panelistas: Rosa Dolz-Marco MD (Spain); Valentina Franco Cárdenas MD (Mexico); Roberto Gallego-Pinazo MD (Spain); José A. Roca MD (Peru); Sergio Rojas MD (Mexico); Matko Vidosevich MD (Argentina)

3:30 PM – Uveítis (Uveitis)
  Roberto Gallego-Pinazo MD (Spain)

3:45 PM – Neuroftalmología (Neurophthalmology)
  Emely Karam MD (Venezuela/Paraguay)

4:00 PM – Glaucoma (Glaucoma)
  Monica Mayorga MD (Costa Rica); Luis Silva MD (Venezuela/USA)

4:20 PM – Cirugía Refractiva (Refractive Surgery)
  Moderador: Alejandro Navas MD (Mexico)
Panelistas: Arturo Ramírez-Miranda MD (Mexico); Enrique Graue-Hernández MD (Mexico)

4:45 PM – Cirugía Oculoplástica (Oculoplastic Surgery)
  Ximena Arze MD (Bolivia)

5:00 PM – Cierre de la reunión (End of Session) 

A PDF certificate of attendance will be available to registered attendees 15 days after the close of the meeting.

Please Note:  Transportation to this meeting is provided via the AAO shuttle service at their normal routes and schedule.
AAO shuttle service ends at 3:30 pm.

Additional transportation is not provided for this meeting.