Message from the PAOF Chair

Jun 25, 2019eVision, From the PAOF Chair, PAOF

Dear Colleagues,

Since its founding, the Pan-American has been led by the top ophthalmologists in the Americas. Our teachers, professors and mentors have a profound impact on our lives. A group of visionary ophthalmologists from around the world came together to honor such Transformational Leaders in the sphere of Pan-American Ophthalmology.

We have created a new award that will be given at Pan-American Congresses every two years, the “Enrique Graue Wiechers Award for Transformational Leadership“. It’s purpose is to recognize ophthalmologists who, through a trajectory of several years of leadership, have been key in the creation, transformation or significant advancement of ophthalmological institutions, hospitals, and/or associations. Dr. Graue became a Pan-American member in 1988. He served on many PAAO committees and was Pan-American Association President from 2005 to 2007. He served as Director of Instituto de Oftalmología of the Conde de Valenciana Foundation and now is the President (Rector) of the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de México.

The first award was presented in Cancun to Eduardo C. Alfonso MD, of Miami. He is the Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute at the University of Miami. Dr. Alfonso has been a Pan-American member since 1987 and has shown inspirational leadership that has transcended boundaries in all of the Americas. Dr. Alfonso was PAAO President from 2015-2017.

I would like to thank those founding ophthalmologists who made this Award a reality: Dr. Alejandro Cruz Hernández (Mexico), Dr. Alejandro Navas Pérez (Mexico), Dr. Angel Guzmán Kuri (Mexico), Dr. Antonio Méndez Noble Jr. (Mexico), Dr. Arturo S. Chayet Berdowsky (Mexico), Dr. Arturo J. Ramírez Miranda (Mexico), Dr. Carlos A. Abdala Caballero (Colombia), Dr. César M. Portilla Espinosa (Mexico), Dr. Diego A. Marín (Colombia), Dr. Eduardo Chávez Mondragón (Mexico), Dr. Enrique O. Graue Hernández (Mexico), Dr. Eugenio Pío García Anaya (Mexico), Dr. Francisco Sánchez León (Mexico), Dr. Gerardo Gascón Guzmán Jr. (Mexico), Dr. Gerardo Javier Gascón Iturralde Sr. (Mexico), Dr. Gian Carlo Storino Palacio (Colombia), Dr. Héctor H. Matiz Moreno (Mexico), Dr. Joaquin Lora (Dominican Republic), Dr. Jorge Valdez (Mexico), Dr. José G. Asilis (Dominican Republic), Dr. José Antonio Claros Bernal (Mexico), Dr. José Luis Tovilla Canales (Mexico), Dr. José Miguel Portilla Manica (Mexico), Dr. Juan González Preciado (Mexico), Dr. Luis Rodríguez Torres (Venezuela), Dr. Luis A. Alanís Villarreal (Mexico), Dra. María de Lourdes Moreno Corral (Mexico), Dr. Pedro A. Gómez Bastar (Mexico), Dr. Raúl G. Suárez Sánchez (Mexico), Dr. Samuel Boyd (Panama), and Dr. Tito Ramírez Luquín (Mexico).

The next award will be presented at the 35th Pan-American Congress of Ophthalmology in Buenos Aires in 2021.

Click here to join in supporting this important program.


Jorge Valdez MD PhD
Chair, Pan-American Ophthalmological Foundation