First Young Paraguayan Society Workshop 2019

Jul 24, 2019Leadership Course

“First Young Paraguayan Society 2019 Workshop 

On June 29 in the city of Asunción, Paraguay the event called First Young SPO Workshop” (Paraguayan Society of Young Ophthalmologists) was held for the first time and it was a big success Residents of Ophthalmology and Ophthalmologists under 40 years presented clinical cases in front of a jury and the general public. This activity was developed within the framework of the “First International Retina and Vitreous Symposium” organized jointly by the Paraguayan Society of Ophthalmology and the Paraguayan Society of Retina and Vitreous. 

Almost 50 presentations of clinical cases and corresponding abstracts were received on the deadline the month before.  Fourteen were selected as finalists to present during the event. 

The jury was integrated by Dr. Miriam Cano, Dr. Myriam Blaires, Dr. Rosa Ayala, Dr. Walter MartínezGill and Dr. Pablo Cibils.  All of them Past-Presidents of the Paraguayan Society of Ophthalmology. 

At the end of their presentationsthe jury asked them about the different aspects of their work and scored by the answers obtained. Among other aspects, the scientific content, the originality of the presentation, the educational contribution, the quality of the speech and presentation were evaluated. 

The winners were: 

1st Place: “Retinal dystrophy in pattern”, Dr. Djorde Velickovich 

2nd Place: “Limbal Transplant”, Dr. Walter MartínezTorres 

3rd Place: “Intrascleral fixation without IOL suture with Yamane technique”, Dr. Walter MartínezTorres 

4th Place: “Fast-onset ocular surface squamous neoplasia in a 60-year-old patient” Dr. Daniel Alarcón 

5th Place: “Unilateral optic neuropathy by Treponema Pallidum“, Dr. Eliana Duarte 


The event was sponsored by the SPO and the industry. 


Dr. Sara Pozzi (President of the SPO), Dr. Ana Barrios (Director of the SPO Scientific Committee) and Dr. Juan Carlos Ginés (SPO Director and Coordinator of the SPO Jovenorganized this event. 

Dr. Juan Carlos Ginés comments that “The main objective of this scientific activity is to encourage the monitoring and documentation of cases, to improve the ability in young ophthalmologists to present them in front of an audience and a critical jury.  We intend from the SPO to carry out this activity annually. 

Dr. Juan Carlos Gines  [email protected] 

Los finalistas.

The Finalists. 


The Jury: (from left to right) Dr. Myriam Blaires, Dr. Rosa Ayala, Dr. Juan Carlos Ginés (Coordinator), Dr. Miriam Cano, Dr. Pablo Cibils, Dr. Walter Martinez Gill. 

Above: End of the Workshop 

BelowOrganizing Committee