Fernando Arévalo Young Ophthalmologist Award

The Power of the Pan-American Network
The Fernando Arévalo Young Ophthalmologist Award was established in 2019 to provide a vehicle for the recognition of outstanding achievement of a young ophthalmologist who is a member of the Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology (PAAO) and who resides in the Americas, Spain or Portugal; who has demonstrated caring and service in their home community above and beyond what is required or expected; who has demonstrated promise in academics; who has published and presented relatively extensively for his/her age; and who has participated in leadership activities in national and/or subspecialty societies or supranational societies. The award also desires to serve to motivate other young ophthalmologists to serve in similar programs, organizations, and to follow a career in academics.

The winner receives a $2,500 prize and presents a mini-lecture at the PAAO congress. The Fernando Arévalo Young Ophthalmologist Award has been established by J. Fernando Arévalo, MD, a native of Venezuela

List of Historical Recipients

2023 Buenos Aires, Argentina
Recipient: Marina Roizenblatt MD (Brazil)
2019 Cancun, Mexico
Recipient: Roberto Gallego-Pinazo (Spain) **FIRST RECIPIENT**


2023 Nomination Deadline: November 8, 2022

Online Nomination form

Fernando Arevalo (left) with Roberto Gallego-Pinazo at the Cancun Opening Ceremony, 2019.
Roberto Gallego-Pinazo presentation during the Cancun Congress, 2019.